Chiari di Luna – V

Clara Schumann (1819 - 1896): Der Mond kommt still gegangen, Lied per voce e pianoforte op. 13 n. 4 (1844) su testo di Emanuel Geibel (1815 - 1884). Barbara Bonney, soprano; Vladimir Aškenazi, pianoforte.

Der Mond kommt still gegangen
Mit seinem gold’nen Schein.
Da schläft in holdem Prangen
Die müde Erde ein.

Und auf den Lüften schwanken
Aus manchem treuen Sinn
Viel tausend Liebesgedanken
Über die Schläfer hin.

Und drunten im Tale, da funkeln
Die Fenster von Liebchens Haus;
Ich aber blicke im Dunklen
Still in die Welt hinaus.

Clara Schumann, op. 13 n. 4

Late roses filled with early snow

Einojuhani Rautavaara (9 ottobre 1928 - 2016): Syksyiset puutarhat / Autumn Gardens per orchestra (1999). Helsingin kaupunginorkesteri (Orchestra filarmonica di Helsinki), dir. Vladimir Aškenazi.

I. Poetico
II. Tranquillo [10:39]
III. Giocoso e leggiero [15:47]

« I have often likened the composer to a gardener: both are observers and overseers of organic growth rather than builders or assemblers of ready parts and elements. I would, furthermore, like my compositions to resemble an English garden, free-growing and organic, as opposed to a French garden, geometrically trimmed in angular shapes. These sentiments are possibly due to the fact that the work was commissioned by a British orchestra for an English festival.
« The name of the work is a quotation from the libretto of my opera The House of the Sun: “like a butterfly in a dark autumn garden”. The motif to which these words are sung is the theme for the variations in the first movement. Their texture gradually grows and quickens. Following on without a break is a slow, poetic movement of even rhythms and dynamics. The quick, lively finale begins giocoso e leggiero. But autumn is also a time of colour, and of death. At the end the music thus turns into a festive dance con grandezza. Maybe it bears the echo of a sarabande to the dying splendour of summer – or as T. S. Eliot put it: “late roses filled with early snow”. »

Einojuhani Rautavaara


Sacre a quattro mani

Igor’ Fëdorovič Stravinskij (1882-1971): Le Sacre du printemps trascritto dall’autore per pianoforte a 4 mani (1914). Vladimir Aškenazi e Andrej Gavrilov.

1er tableau: L’adoration de la terre
– Introduction
– Augures printaniers — Danses des adolescentes [a 3:58]
– Jeu du rapt [a 7:19]
– Rondes printanières [a 8:30]
– Jeu des cités rivales [a 12:22]
– Cortège du Sage [a 14:02]
– L’Adoration de la Terre (Le Sage) — Danse de la terre [a 14:40]

2nd tableau: Le sacrifice
– Introduction [a 16:15]
– Cercles mystérieux des adolescentes [a 20:44]
– Glorification de l’élue [a 24:14]
– Évocation des ancêtres [a 25:38]
– Action rituelle des ancêtres [a 26:17]
– Danse sacrale [a 29:44]