La maga dell’Atlante (Bantock 150)

Sir Granville Bantock (7 agosto 1868 – 1946): The Witch of Atlas, poema sinfonico (1902) ispirato dall’omonimo poemetto di Shelley. BBC National Orchestra of Wales, dir. Rumon Gamba.


Frank Bridge (1879 – 10 gennaio 1941): Oration, concerto elegiaco per violoncello e orchestra H 180 (1929-30). Alban Gerhardt, violoncello; BBC National Orchestra of Wales, dir. Richard Hickox.
I movimenti si succedono senza soluzione di continuità: Poco lento – Lento e ritmico – Allegro – Ben moderato (poco lento) – Poco lento – Allegro giusto – Tranquillo – Ben moderato, mesto e tranquillo – (cadenza) – Allegro – Lento – Epilogue: Andante tranquillo.

The Morning Watch

Edmund Rubbra (1901-1986): The Morning Watch per coro e orchestra op. 55 (1941). BBC National Orchestra of Wales, dir. Richard Hickox.

O joys! Infinite sweetness! with what flowers
And shoots of glory, my soul breaks and buds!
   All the long hours
   Of night and rest,
   Through the still shrouds
   Of sleep, and clouds,
   This dew fell on my breast;
   O how it bloods,
And spirits all my earth! hark! in what rings,
And hymning circulations the quick world
   Awakes, and sings!
   The rising winds,
   And falling springs,
   Birds, beasts, all things
   Adore Him in their kinds.
   Thus all is hurl’d
In sacred hymns and order; the great chime
And symphony of Nature. Prayer is
   The world in tune,
   A spirit-voice,
   And vocal joys,
   Whose echo is heaven’s bliss.
   O let me climb
When I lie down! The pious soul by night
Is like a clouded star, whose beams, though said
   To shed their light
   Under some cloud,
   Yet are above,
   And shine and move
   Beyond that misty shroud.
   So in my bed,
That curtain’d grave, though sleep, like ashes, hide
My lamp and life, both shall in Thee abide.