Late roses filled with early snow

Einojuhani Rautavaara (9 ottobre 1928 – 2016): Syksyiset puutarhat / Autumn Gardens per orchestra (1999). Helsingin kaupunginorkesteri (Orchestra filarmonica di Helsinki), dir. Vladimir Aškenazi.

I. Poetico
II. Tranquillo [10:39]
III. Giocoso e leggiero [15:47]

« I have often likened the composer to a gardener: both are observers and overseers of organic growth rather than builders or assemblers of ready parts and elements. I would, furthermore, like my compositions to resemble an English garden, free-growing and organic, as opposed to a French garden, geometrically trimmed in angular shapes. These sentiments are possibly due to the fact that the work was commissioned by a British orchestra for an English festival.
« The name of the work is a quotation from the libretto of my opera The House of the Sun: “like a butterfly in a dark autumn garden”. The motif to which these words are sung is the theme for the variations in the first movement. Their texture gradually grows and quickens. Following on without a break is a slow, poetic movement of even rhythms and dynamics. The quick, lively finale begins giocoso e leggiero. But autumn is also a time of colour, and of death. At the end the music thus turns into a festive dance con grandezza. Maybe it bears the echo of a sarabande to the dying splendour of summer – or as T. S. Eliot put it: “late roses filled with early snow”. »

Einojuhani Rautavaara


Equinozio XI

António de Lima Fragoso (1897-1918): Chanson d’automne (1917); testo di Paul Verlaine (1844-1896). Carlos Guilherme, tenore; Armando Vidal, pianoforte.

Les sanglots longs
des violons
   de l’automne
blessent mon coeur
d’une langueur

Tout suffocant
et blême, quand
   sonne l’heure,
je me souviens
des jours anciens,
   et je pleure…

Et je m’en vais
au vent mauvais
   qui m’emporte
de çà, de là,
pareil à la
   feuille morte…

Equinozio IX

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (1809-1947): Herbstlied, duetto op. 63 n. 4 (1844); testo di Karl Klingemann (1798-1862). Barbara Bonney, soprano; Angelika Kirchschlager, mezzosoprano; Malcolm Martineau, pianoforte.

Ach, wie so bald verhallet der Reigen,
Wandelt sich Frühling in Winterzeit!
Ach, wie so bald in trauerndes Schweigen
Wandelt sich alle der Fröhlichkeit!

Bald sind die letzten Klänge verflogen!
Bald sind die letzten Sänger gezogen!
Bald ist das letzte Grün dahin!
Alle sie wollen heimwärts ziehn!

Ach, wie so bald verhallet der Reigen,
Wandelt sich Lust in sehnendes Leid.

Wart ihr ein Traum, ihr Liebesgedanken?
Süß wie der Lenz und schnell verweht?
Eines, nur eines will nimmer wanken:
Es ist das Sehnen, das nimmer vergeht.

Ach, wie so bald verhallet der Reigen!
Ach, wie so bald in trauerndes Schweigen
Wandelt sich alle die Fröhlichkeit!

Oh, quanto presto s’arresta la danza,
la primavera si tramuta in inverno;
oh, quanto presto in doloroso silenzio
si tramuta ogni allegria.

Presto si affievoliscono gli ultimi suoni!
Presto se ne vanno gli ultimi alati cantori!
Presto l’ultimo verde scompare!
Tutti vogliono tornare a casa.

Oh, quanto presto s’arresta la danza
e il piacere si trasforma in mesto dolore!

Eravate soltanto un sogno, voi, pensieri d’amore?
Dolce come la primavera e presto svanito?
Una cosa, solo una cosa non cambierà mai:
la nostalgia, che mai se ne va.

Oh, quanto presto s’arresta la danza!
Oh, quanto presto in doloroso silenzio
si tramuta ogni allegria.