Indian Sounds

Gloria Coates (1938): Ottava Sinfonia, Indian Sounds (1991). Kathleen Eberlein e Rose Bihler Shah, voci; Musica Viva Ensemble Dresden, dir. Jürgen Wirrmann.

I. Indian Grounds
II. Indian Mounds
III. Indian Rounds

CoatesIndian Sounds is the chamber orchestra version of Symphony No. 8, composed in 1991 in honor of the discovery of America and a tribute to the Native Americans. I grew up in Wisconsin among the Indian culture and witnessed their isolation and struggle for rights which was happening during the period of writing this work.
Here both the English Horn and oboe play an important role, the representation of innocence with a limpid tone amidst the menacing textures in the strings.
There are three movements in the Indian Sounds:
I. Indian Grounds represents the land and the struggle with possession.
II. Indian Mounds represents the burial grounds, especially the Dixon Mounds in Illinois that are being robbed and exploited illegally.
III. Indian Rounds represents the symbol of eternity in the Native American culture.
The melodies used are from various tribes: Seneca, Plains, and Winnebago which are here chanted by Kathleen Eberlein and Rose Bihler Shah in the original language.
(Gloria Coates)

Scrivi un commento:

Inserisci i tuoi dati qui sotto o clicca su un'icona per effettuare l'accesso:

Logo di

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Google photo

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Google. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Foto Twitter

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Twitter. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Foto di Facebook

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Facebook. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Connessione a %s...

Questo sito utilizza Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come vengono elaborati i dati derivati dai commenti.