Alain: Litanies

Jehan Alain (1911-1940): Litanies. Marie-Claire Alain (1926-2013), organo.


Janáček: Concertino

Leoš Janáček (1854-1928): Concertino per pianoforte, due violini, viola, clarinetto, corno e fagotto (1925). Zelia Chueke, pianoforte; membri dell’International Chamber Orchestra.
Composto durante una visita a Hukvaldy, in Moravia, luogo natale e ritiro campestre di Janáček, il Concertino è, secondo le indicazioni dell’autore, una descrizione dei giochi di vari animali nel bosco: in una lettera datata 23 aprile 1925 Janáček parla di “uno scoiattolo, alcuni moscerini, un capriolo”, mentre in un articolo scritto qualche tempo dopo aggiunge alla lista un riccio e dei gufi. Gli animaletti sono raffigurati prima individualmente, poi nel terzo movimento compaiono insieme, e nel Finale tutti giocano, saltano e corrono con crescente vivacità.

To see, to hear, to touch, to kiss, to die

John Dowland (1563-1626): Come again, dal First Booke of Songes (1597). Paul Agnew, tenore; Christopher Wilson, liuto.

Come again! sweet love doth now invite
Thy graces that refrain
To do me due delight,
To see, to hear, to touch, to kiss, to die,
With thee again in sweetest sympathy.

Come again! that I may cease to mourn
Through thy unkind disdain;
For now left and forlorn
I sit, I sigh, I weep, I faint, I die
In deadly pain and endless misery.

All the day the sun that lends me shine
By frowns do cause me pine
And feeds me with delay;
Her smiles, my springs that makes my joys to grow,
Her frowns the Winters of my woe.

All the night my sleeps are full of dreams,
My eyes are full of streams.
My heart takes no delight
To see the fruits and joys that some do find
And mark the storms are me assign’d.

Out alas, my faith is ever true,
Yet will she never rue
Nor yield me any grace;
Her eyes of fire, her heart of flint is made,
Whom tears nor truth may once invade.

Gentle Love, draw forth thy wounding dart,
Thou canst not pierce her heart;
For I, that do approve
By sighs and tears more hot than are thy shafts
Did tempt while she for triumph laughs.